Blog · books · Haul

Library Book Haul

Because I’m starting this blog to get to know people, if you wouldn’t mind, could you leave your Goodreads, twitter, and instagram. 

I decided to make a quick trip to the library yesterday and see what I could find. I was in a contemporary mood as you can see in this post. A fun fact about me is that I can’t read the same genre twice in a row and that’s why I have a couple of non-contemporary books.

IMG_0029 (1)

The Fill-In Boyfriend by: Kasie West

[Goodreads // Amazon]

Like I said, I’m on a contemporary kick and I’ve seen booktubers talking about this author and decide to check it out. I’m currently reading this book, and by currently reading I mean I put it on my currently reading shelf on Goodreads. This book will most likely be the first book I review for this blog so stay on the lookout.

 When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley. The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

By Your Side by: Kasie West

[Goodreads // Amazon ]

I decided to check this book out as well just in case I didn’t like The Fill-In Boyfriend. Another fact about me is that I like to give authors second chances. I won’t based an author writing off of one book and I would recommend many people try this out rather than refusing to read any books by one author ever again. You’d be surprised at the number of gems you find.

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her. Only he doesn’t come. No one does. Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Did I mention I Love You? by: Estelle Maskame

[Goodreads // Amazon]

I would like to give a shout out to LovelyLikeLaura. She raved about this book when she first read it and so when I say it at the library, I had to get it.

When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers. The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler? Did I Mention I Love You is the first book in the phenomenal DIMILY trilogy, following the lives of Eden Munro and Tyler Bruce as they try to find their way in an increasingly confusing world.

Daughter of Deep Silence by: Carrie Ryan

[Goodreads // Amazon]

I love books that manipulate you to the point where you don’t know what’s going on. I absolutely love those books and so when I say that the book is from three perspectives, two of them are lying, I didn’t even have to finish reading the summary on the flap. This book was pretty hyped up in 2015, but as you will soon come to realize, I don’t read books when they are hyped. The hype kind of ruins it for me sometimes because I have such high expectations and when the book doesn’t live up to them, I’m disappointed. If not for the hype, I would have enjoyed it more.

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.

I’m the friend of a dead girl.

I’m the lover of my enemy.

And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

The Assasins Blade and Throne of Glass by: Sarah J Maas

[Goodreads // Amazon]   [Goodreads // Amazon]

These books have been recommended to me so many times, but I have been putting them off for years. I hate reading uncompleted series then having to wait for the new release. I know this series is going to take me some time to read now that there are a lot of books out. I think there is only one book left now, correct me if I’m wrong. I won’t be putting a synopsis for this series because I don’t want to spoil myself for the Assasins Blade.

As you all know, this is the second post on my blog and I have learned a lot these past couple of days. One thing I learned is that there are a lot of weekly features such as Top five Wednesday and Top Ten Tuesday ( those are the only ones I know, but I’m sure there are more). One thing that you guys don’t know is that I love fashion and obviously I love books and I wanted to bring those things together.  I haven’t written my first post in this segment mainly because I don’t know if it’s already a thing. I don’t want to steal someone else’s idea like it’s my own. I still need to come up with the post and get a name for it.I’ll do updates on Twitter. Let me know how you guys would feel about it, if I decide to start it.

Love, Sal

FIND ME

Twitter

Instagram

Email: journeythroughbookville@gmail.com

Here is a little more information about me. My name is Salma, but you guys can call me Sal. I’m 16 years old and am about to be a senior in high school. I have four siblings, two brothers, and two sisters,  and I’m the second oldest. I’m just an ordinary southern gal that loves reading.

 

Leave a Reply

